NSW And ACT Declared Hotspots. Entry Passes Denied To Norfolk Island

The Norfolk Island Emergency Team has reviewed the current travel restrictions alongside the Queensland Government declaring all of New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory as hotspots from 1.00am on Saturday 8 August 2020.

The EMT and the Norfolk Island Regional Council permit screening process reference the hotspots listed on the Queensland Government website.

It is unclear how long the listing of these three states as hotspots will be maintained and the EMT will continue to monitor.

The situation in Victoria is still developing and the EMT will maintain that an entry pass be denied to all who have been in Victoria in the past 14 days. This includes denying an entry pass to returning residents and essential personnel.
People who have spent time in New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory in the 14 days prior to travel will also be denied entry.

However, returning residents and essential personnel may apply to the Incident Controller to obtain an exemption via the entry pass system.  Any person receiving an exemption will still be required to quarantine for 14 days, at their own expense on arrival into Norfolk Island.
People from Queensland, Northern Territory, South Australia, Western Australia, and Tasmania may travel to Norfolk Island. An entry pass may be granted to people from these states who have had to transit through Sydney Airport in the same day on the way to Norfolk Island. 
People returning to mainland Australia from the island should confirm with the respective State and Territory Governments as to what, if any, restrictions are applicable.

Please note that all travellers from Norfolk Island to Queensland will need to apply for a Queensland Border Declaration Pass online.


Residents of Norfolk Island may use 2899 postcode and NSW as the state in the permit application and a permit will issue successfully.

For more information and directions please visit the Queensland Health Website.


“A person who enters Queensland must quarantine if in the 14 days prior to entering Queensland:

  • the person has been overseas; or
  • the person has had contact with a person who is a confirmed case of COVID-19; or
  • the person has been in a COVID-19 hotspot and is permitted to enter under Part 2; or
  • the person has been a cleared case of COVID-19 who has been given an exemption to enter Queensland by the Chief Health Officer under paragraph 21; or
  • the person has had symptoms consistent with COVID-19; or
  • the person is a border zone resident who is a Queensland resident who traveled outside the border zone in New South Wales.”





Website by The Design Web | Log in